Kerala State Film Awards 2013 declared – List of Winners

An eight member jury chaired by I. V. Sasi said that it was very difficult to reach consensus, as two or more persons were on par with the best in each category.

Kerala State Film Awards 2012 has been announced.  Minister KB Ganesh kumar announced the awards in a press meet on Friday. The jury had a tough job to choose from a record number of 84 films, highest ever entry for the awards.

Winners of Kerala state film awards 2013

Prithviraj bagged the Best male actor award for the movie ‘Celluloid‘ and ‘Ayalum Njanum Thammil‘ and Rima Kallingal was awarded the Best female actor award for the movie ‘22 Female Kottayam‘ and ‘Nidra’.

Celluloid, directed by Kamal, based on the life of J.C. Daniel, the pioneer of Malayalam cinema was adjudged the ‘Best Film‘ and Ozhimuri directed by Madhupal was selected as the Best Second Film.

The award for the Best director went to Lal Jose for the movie ‘Ayalum Njanum Thammil‘ while the award for the Best Script writer was bagged by Anjali Menon for the movie ‘Manjadikkuru‘.  Madhu Neelakantan got the best cameraman award for the film Annayum Rasoolum.  Manoj K. Jayan and Sajitha Madathil bagged the best supporting actor and best supporting actress awards respectively.

M Jayachandran was selected as the Best Music Director for the film ‘Celluloid and the Best Playback Singer (male) went to Vijay Yesudas and the Best Playback Singer (female) to Sithara. Vaikom Vijayalakshmi got a special jury mention for her song Kaatte Kaatte in the movie `Celluloid’. The jury also pointed out that Mamta Mohandas (for her role as Janet in Celluloid) was in the running for the Best Actress. In total, Celluloid bagged seven awards at this year’s Kerala State Film Awards.

Celluloid, Ayalum Njanum Thammil, Ozhimuri, Shutter, Ustad Hotel, 22 Female Kottayam, Spirit, David and Goliath, Ente, Ee Adutha Kaalathu, Diamond Necklace, Bhoomiyude Avakashikal, Arike and Chayilyam were in the front row for competition.

An eight member jury chaired by I. V. Sasi said that it was very difficult to reach consensus, as two or more persons were on par with the best in each category. Other Members of the jury are director Sibi Malayil, cameraman Vipin Mohan, music director R. Somasekharan, Jayashree Kishore, Editor Ramesh Vikraman, Actress Surekha, and Film Academy Secretary K. Manoj Kumar (member secretary).

Kerala State award 2013 winners

Best Film: Celluloid

Best Second Film: Ozhimuri

Best Actor: Prithviraj (Celluloid,Ayalum Njanum Thammil)

Best Actress: Rima Kallingal (Nidra,22 Female Kottayam)

Best Director: Lal Jose (Ayalum Njanum Thammil)

Best Popular Movie: Ayalum Njanum Thammil

Best Script: Anjali Menon (Manjadikuru)

Best Story: Manoj Kanna (Chayilyam)

Best Second Actor: Manoj K.Jayan (Kaliyachan)

Best Second Actress: Sajitha Madathil (Shutter)

Best Debutant Director: Farook Abdul Rahiman (Kaliyachan)

Best Cinematography: Madhu Neelakantan (Annayum Rasoolum)

Best Music: M.Jayachandran (Celluloid)

Best Lyrics: Rafeeq Ahamad

Best Male Playback Singer: Vijay Yesudas

Best Female Playback Singer: Sithara

Jury Special Mention: Sriram and Vaikom Vijaylakshmi

Best Background Music: Bijibal (Ozhimuri,Kaliyachan)

Best Art Direction: Suresh Kolllam (Celluloid)

Best Comedian: Salim Kumar (Ayalum Njanum Thammil)

Best Editing: Ajith Kumar.B (Annayum Rasoolum)

Best Child Artists: Vyjyanthi (Manjadikuru), Master Minon (101 Chodyangal)

Best Sound Design: M.R.Rajakrishnan

Best Dubbing Artist: Vimmi Mariam George

Best Makeup: Roshan (Mayamohini)

Best Costumes: S.B.Satheesh (Celluloid)

Best Children’s Film: Black Forest

Best Colourist: Jaydeep

Share your thoughts