Attukal Pongala: List of special trains and stops

Southern Railways will run special trains between Kollam and Trivandrum on February 15 and 16.

#EnteThiruvananthapuram: Railways have made arrangements to clear the rush of passengers during the Attukal Pongala. Southern Railway will run special trains, introduce additional coaches on passenger trains and will provide additional stoppages for express trains at smaller stations, on February 15 and 16.

Special Trains to Trivandrum

On February 15th, a special passenger train will be operated from Kollam Junction at 3pm to reach Trivandrum Central at 5:15pm. On February 16th, another special train will leave from Kollam Junction at 4:00am and will arrive at Trivandrum at 5.55 a.m.  Both trains will stop at all stations.

Trains from Trivandrum

A passenger train will leave Trivandrum Central at 3.30 p.m. to reach Kollam Junction at 5.40 pm. A second train will also leave Trivandrum Central at 3.45 p.m. to reach Kollam Junction at 6.15 p.m. Both trains will have stoppage at all stations.

Additional stops

Six trains have been provided additional stoppages at various railway stations on February 15th.

Train No.12511 Raptisagar Express, will stop at Paravur, Varkala, Kadakkavur, and Chirayinkeezhu; and Train No. 16649 Parasuram Express will stop at Mayyanad, Kadakkavur, and Chirayinkeezhu.

Other trains include Train No. 17230 Hyderabad-Trivandrum Express at Paravur, Kadakkavur, Chirayinkeezhu, and Murukkumpuzha, Train No. 16345 Lokmanya Tilak-Trivandrum Express at Paravur, Kadakkavur, and Chirayinkeezhu, Train No. 16605 Eranad Express at Paravur, Kadakkavur, and Chirayinkeezhu and Train No. 16127 Egmore-Guruvayur Express at Parassala.

On February 16, 11 trains have been given special stops.

Trains arriving at Trivandrum

  • Train No. 16344  Amrita Express at Paravur, Kadakkavur, Chirayinkeezhu, Murukkumpuzha, and Pettah;
  • Train No. 56700 Madurai-Punalur Passenger at Dhanuvachapuram, Amaravila, Balaramapuram, and Nemom stations.
  • Train No. 16603 Maveli Express at Paravur, Kadakkavur, Chirayinkeezhu, and Pettah stations;
  • Train No. 16382 Kanyakumari-Mumbai CST Express will stop at Balaramapuram and Nemom;
  • Train No. 12695 Chennai- Trivandrum at Paravur, Kadakkavur, Chirayinkeezhu, and Murukkumpuzha stations.

Train No. 16303 Vanchinad Express and Train No. 12644 Nizamuddin-Trivandrum Express will stop at the Pettah station. Train No. 16526 Bangalore-Kanyakumari Express will stop at all stations between Trivandrum and Nagercoil.

Trains leaving Trivandrum

  • Train No. 12696 Trivandrum-Chennai will stop at Chirayinkeezhu, Kadakkavur, Paravur, and Mayyanad
  • Train No. 16342 Inter City Express at Chirayinkeezhu and Kadakkavur
  • Train No. 16304  Vanchinad Express at the Paravur station

Southern Railway has also arranged additional ticket counters, information and announcement counters and medical aid centre for the convenience of the devotees.

Share your thoughts